Visual Studio 2012 RC – Error while trying to run project: invalid pointer

Previously I posted a workaround to launch a web application in debug mode here. I have come across a similar issue while running a console application in debug mode. This time the error description I came across was as follows:

“Error while trying to run project: invalid pointer”

Again, I don’t know the reason of this error but I managed to figure out a workaround. To be able to run a console application in debug mode, follow these steps:

  • Select the project (in solution explorer) you want to run in debug mode
  • In the Debug menu click on <project name> properties
  • select the debug tab
  • check “Enable native code debugging”

You are good to go. I don’t know if this is the bug on Microsoft part or there was an issue with my installation but I thought someone may come across the similar issue and this workaround might help.

Note: I have not tested the WinForms or WPF application yet so I am not sure if this solution applies to those application. You can give it a try anyway.

If anyone come across a permanent fix then please let me know as well. I will be extremely grateful.

This entry was posted in Microsoft Visual Studio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

